Coastal votes are decisive in Alappuzha
Alappuzha is a constituency where the Marxist party has the numbers and the Congress party the votes. If the number of members in the rolls of the Marxist party and its affiliated organisations is added, it will be more than half of the total number of voters in Alappuzha. In addition to that there are more leftist voters. From 1957 to 1971 the name of the constituency was Ambalappuzha. The constituency tilted to the right only after V.M. Sudheeran became the Congress candidate in 1977. In the next four elections in which Sudheeran stepped aside, the UDF and the LDF raised their flags twice each in the constituency. After T.J. Angelose captured the constituency in 1991 by defeating Vakkom Purushothaman by 14,075 votes, Sudheeran was again sent to contest the next election there in 1996. In 1996, 1998 and 1999 Sudheeran was the winner. But in the 2004 election, K.S. Manoj, the new face introduced by the Marxist party, recaptured the constituency from Sudheeran, who was compelled to enter the fray by the Congress high command after he had firmly stated that he would not contest. However, in 2009, K.C. Venugopal won Alappuzha for Congress. In Kerala, Alappuzha is the Lok Sabha constituency which has the longest coastline: 82 kilometres. As a result, coastal votes are the most decisive in the constituency.